English


The main winter event on the Riviera is one of the largest carnivals in the world, offering a programme of unforgettable entertainment … from 11th to 26th February 2017.


The carnival processions, comprising 17 floats work their way up to a crescendo of gigantic celebrations on the Place Masséna.

 

This year, the King will be ‘King of Energy". A theme which opens all perspectives to imagination and that is still a topical subject... and will show his fans that he has many ressources!



These giant, colourful parades take place day and night, with entertainment provided by over 1,000 musicians and dancers from across the world.

 

 


In a unique setting, the elegant "flower battles" are part of the carnival not to be missed. On floats decorated with the most stunning floral compositions, extravagantly dressed characters throw out mimosas, gerberas, and lilies into the public …

For over 15 days, the city hums to the rhythm of this genuine, fairy-tale event … get a passport for the celebration and let the magic do its work … come and forget the dullness of winter and take in the sun on the French Riviera!

NEW IN 2017 (see map) : A new route, identical for all events In order to accommodate the spectators in a 100% secure enclosure, the route of the carnival corso as well as that of the battle of flowers have been completely redesigned. The two events will take place on a unique route: the floats will pass through Place Masséna and will turn around the Promenade du Paillon (see map). This new route involves the closure of the Promenade du Paillon garden before and during the duration of the event.

L’événement phare de la Côte d’Azur en hiver, un des plus grands Carnavals du monde, propose un programme de spectacles inoubliables… du 11 au 26 février 2017.


Les défilés carnavalesques, magnifiés par les éléments d'animation sur la Place Masséna, se composent de 17 chars qui raconteront l’histoire du "Roi de l'Energie".

 

Energies électrique, fossile, éolienne, solaire, hydraulique, renouvelable… Mais aussi énergie déployée par les hommes ... Un vaste sujet qui permettra aux Carnavaliers et maquettistes officiels de laisser parler leur imagination à l'envi !


Ces parades géantes et colorées qui se déroulent de jour ou de nuit, sont animées par plus de 1000 musiciens et danseurs venus des quatre coins du monde.

 

 

 



Durant plus de 15 jours, la ville vit au rythme de cet evenement authentique et féérique …prenez un passeport pour la fête et laissez la magie opérer…venez oublier les rigueurs de l’hiver sous le soleil de la Côte d’Azur !

Les élégantes batailles de fleurs sont une composante du Carnaval à ne pas manquer. Sur des chars décorés des plus belles compositions florales, des personnages vétus de costumes extravagants lancent au public mimosas, gerberas, lys… et bien d'autres !

 

NOUVEAUTE 2017 : Un nouveau parcours, identique pour toutes les manifestations
(voir plan)
Afin de pouvoir accueillir les spectateurs dans une enceinte 100 % sécurisée, le parcours du corso carnavalesque ainsi que celui de la bataille de fleurs a été entièrement repensé. Les deux manifestations se dérouleront sur un parcours unique : les chars défileront sur la Place Masséna et tourneront autour de la Promenade du Paillon. Ce nouveau parcours implique la fermeture de la Promenade du Paillon avant et pendant la durée de la manifestation.